News

Seeking a postdoc – Modeling the evolution of enzymes along complex metabolic networks

The postdoc is for two years at the LBBE in Lyon. Please send an email to etienne.rajon@univ-lyon1.fr for details / informal inquiries, or to apply (then include a CV, a short description of your research interest / ideas about the project, and the names / emails of 1 or 2 references). Evaluation will start in mid-September and continue until the position is filled. Salary before tax: 1864 euros per month – ideal start date: before 2023.  

What is it about? Metabolic reactions form networks that are essential to transforming nutrients into energy and useful building blocks. As essential are enzymes that catalyze these reactions. Yet, despite their contribution to competition at the most basic level, enzymes are extremely diverse and sometimes only moderately efficient. No less puzzling is the presence of a large amount of redundancy in metabolic networks – meaning that some enzymes are possibly useless. This project aims at understanding this conundrum by studying the joint evolution of enzyme features and the structure of the metabolic network. This involves (i) building and analyzing mechanistic population genetics models to get an idea of what enzymes should look like, and (ii) comparing these predictions to published data.

Who is it for? About anyone who has done modeling, preferably in evolution, and would like to focus on mechanistic aspects. The group is philosophically inclined towards producing models informed by our knowledge of the systems considered, so the ideal candidate should have, on top of mathematical / computational skills, an appetite for reading and discovering how things work. Not having worked on enzymes, or even at this level of biological organisation, is fine; it actually shows how open-minded you are!

What if I have other great ideas? Let’s discuss! We love novel ideas and while we want this project to move forward, we can make some space to explore elsewhere too.

Who would I work with? Etienne Rajon is the main supervisor of the project. Sabine Peres – a specialist of metabolic network architectures – is also involved, mostly in the data analysis part of the project. 

Do I want to live in Lyon for two years? Sometimes science requires that kind of sacrifice…. Just kidding, of course you do! Lyon is a vibrant, human-sized city. It is renowned for its gastronomy, has many festivals, an iconic lightshow, museums, etc. The LBBE is a thematically diverse structure (perfect for the open-minded) with “departments” ranging from genomics to evolutionary ecology. We have external and internal seminars, thematic days, etc. And this is just to learn from each other, because we consider that this is part of (what is interesting in) our jobs.
 

Research

The living world is spectacularly complex, but the theory of evolution makes it possible to understand, step by step, its intricacies. Modeling is a powerful tool to overcome the limits of our intuition and understand how complex phenomena emerge from simple ingredients. Obviously, when changing the list of ingredients, the outcome can change, making their knowledge essential.

My goal is to integrate information about the mechanisms that underlie phenotypes – the genotype-phenotype map – in order to build realistic evolutionary models. This approach avoids making (many) arbitrary choices, in particular on the distribution of mutational effects, and on the constraints that may govern evolution: there may be pleiotropy, robustness, trade-offs, and these descriptors of the distribution of mutational effects may themselves evolve.

Remarkably, these mechanisms that underlie the phenotypes form networks, the evolution of which (or in which) I study. Three currently occupy me: gene networks, endocrine networks and metabolic networks.

Gene networks are formed by the relationships governing gene expression. Some genes code for regulators (for example transcription factors) that interact with certain small sequences surrounding other genes and modify their transcription. Notice that this is a good example of the interest of mechanistic modeling; we can make simple models where these relationships appear or disappear, with certain probabilities, but in reality the regulatory sequence(s) can be more or less distant to the “right” sequence, so that these probabilities themselves change over time, which cannot be accounted for without explicitly modeling changes in regulatory sequences.

Gene networks are at the origin of many (all?) phenotypes. But their functioning is subject to noise, the number of copies of elements produced by each of these genes (RNA and proteins) necessarily varying from one cell to another. I take into account the presence of this noise (thesis of Florian Labourel) to model its exploitation in generating strategies of diversifying bet-hedging (the random expression of various phenotypes by a single genotype) and of multicellularity (several cell types by a single genotype).

My current projects on this theme (still) concern the evolution of bet-hedging and multicellularity. I am also interested in the emergence and evolution of non-genetic inheritance systems (Rajon and Charlat, 2019), for which these networks seem to be an ideal breeding ground: oddly enough, a vast majority of the mechanisms of non-genetic inheritance described take part in gene networks (small RNAs, methylation, etc.).

Physical pairings between hormones and receptors are at the origin of many phenotypes observed in multicellular organisms, and especially of the relationships between these phenotypes. It is in this context that I became interested in their evolution (thesis by Salomé Bourg), in order to model the evolution of the form of trade-offs (Bourg et al, 2019).

On this theme, my current project is to build a model to understand the evolution of temporal dynamics (over the course of life) of energy allocation to life history traits.

Without enzymes, life cannot be sustained: the biochemical reactions that provide living beings with energy and building materials, from what is in their environment, would be much too slow to sustain the life of self-replicating organisms. However, the archetype of hyper-efficient enzymes, operating at the limits of their physical limits, does not stand up to the analysis of their kinetic constants.

To understand this, we (thesis by Florian Labourel) have built models of enzyme evolution integrating an essential characteristic of living beings based on enzymatic efficiency (competition for resources) and details of the environment of a enzyme (catalyzed reaction, characteristics of the metabolite produced, etc.). This work has shown that the observed inefficiency can be understood by a plateau beyond which increasing efficiency does not increase fitness much (Labourel and Rajon, 2021).

On the other hand, the integration of the cellular constraints underlying the (expensive) expression of these enzymes has made it possible to understand why, sometimes, organisms release metabolites which still make it possible to generate energy, for the benefit of others, making thus shedding light on the evolution of common crossover interactions in microbial communities (Labourel et al, 2021).

Publications

Display of 1 to 16 publications on 16 in total

Annonce

Recherche postdoc – Modélisation de l'évolution des enzymes dans des réseaux métaboliques complexes

Le postdoc est pour 2 ans au LBBE. Pour candidater, merci d'envoyer un CV, une courte description des choses qui vous intéressent et des idées que vous pourriez avoir sur le projet, et le(s) nom(s) et email(s) d'une ou deux références.

L'évaluation des dossiers commencera mi-septembre et se poursuivra jusqu'à ce que le poste soit pourvu.

Salaire mensuel net: 1864 euros.

Début du contrat avant 2023.

De quoi s'agit-il ? Les réactions métaboliques forment des réseaux essentiels à la transformation des nutriments en énergie et en blocs de construction utiles. Non moins essentielles sont les enzymes qui catalysent ces réactions. Pourtant, malgré leur rôle crucial dans la compétition pour les ressources, les enzymes sont extrêmement diverses, et parfois seulement modérément efficaces. La présence abondante de redondance dans les réseaux métaboliques est tout aussi déroutante ; elle signifie que certaines enzymes sont peut-être inutiles. Ce projet vise à résoudre cette énigme en étudiant l'évolution conjointe des caractéristiques enzymatiques et de la structure du réseau métabolique. Cela implique (i) de construire et d'analyser des modèles mécanistes de génétique des populations pour avoir une idée de ce à quoi les enzymes devraient ressembler, et (ii) de comparer ces prédictions aux données publiées.

Qui peut candidater ? A toute personne ayant fait de la modélisation, de préférence en évolution, et souhaitant s'intéresser aux aspects mécanistiques. Dans l'équipe, on a tendance à produire autant que possible des modèles informés par notre connaissance des systèmes considérés, de sorte que le.la candidat.e idéal.e doit avoir, en plus des compétences en mathématiques / calcul, un appétit pour la lecture et la découverte du fonctionnement des choses. Ne pas avoir travaillé sur les enzymes, ni même à ce niveau d'organisation biologique, n'est pas un soucis ; cela montre au contraire à quel point vous êtes ouvert.e d'esprit!

Et si j'avais d'autres bonnes idées ? Discutons-en ! Même si nous voulons que ce projet avance, nous pouvons aussi faire de la place pour explorer ailleurs.

Est-ce que je veux vivre à Lyon pendant deux ans ? Parfois, la science exige ce genre de sacrifice…. Plus sérieusement : Lyon est une ville dynamique à taille humaine. Réputée pour sa gastronomie, hébergeant de nombreux festivals, un spectacle de lumière emblématique, des musées, etc. Le LBBE est une structure traitant de nombreux pans de la biologie (parfaite pour les esprits ouverts) avec des « départements » allant de la génomique à l'écologie évolutive. Nous avons des séminaires externes et internes, des journées thématiques, etc. Et c'est juste pour apprendre les uns des autres, car nous considérons que cela fait partie de (ce qui est intéressant dans) nos métiers.

Recherche

Le monde vivant est d’une complexité spectaculaire, mais la théorie de l’évolution permet d’en comprendre, pas-à-pas, les méandres. La modélisation est un outil puissant pour dépasser les limites de notre intuition et comprendre comment des phénomènes complexes émergent à partir d’ingrédients simples. Évidemment, lorsqu’on change la liste d’ingrédients, le résultat final peut changer, rendant cruciale leur connaissance.

Mon objectif général est d’intégrer des informations concernant les mécanismes qui sous-tendent les phénotypes – de la relation entre le génotype (ou tout autre support d’information) et le phénotype – pour construire des modèles d’évolution réalistes. Cette démarche évite d’avoir à faire (trop) de choix arbitraires, notamment sur la distribution des effets des mutations, et sur les contraintes qui peuvent régir l’évolution : il peut y avoir de la pléiotropie, de la robustesse, des compromis évolutifs, et ces descripteurs de la distribution des effets mutationnels peuvent eux-mêmes évoluer.

Sans que je puisse bien l’expliquer, ces mécanismes qui sous-tendent les phénotypes forment des réseaux, dont (ou dans lesquels) j’étudie l’évolution. Trois m’occupent actuellement : les réseaux de gènes, les réseaux endocriniens et les réseaux métaboliques.

Les réseaux des gènes sont formés par les relations de régulation de l’expression des gènes. Certains gènes codent pour des régulateurs (par exemple les facteurs de transcription) qui interagissent avec certaines petites séquences entourant d’autre gènes et modifient leur transcription. Petite parenthèse : c’est un bon exemple pour montrer l’intérêt de la modélisation mécanistique ; on peut faire des modèles simples où ces relations apparaissent ou disparaissent, avec certaines probabilités, mais en réalité la ou les séquences régulatrices peuvent être plus ou moins proches de la « bonne » séquence, si bien que ces probabilités vont elles-mêmes changer au cours du temps, ce qui ne peut pas être pris en compte sans modéliser explicitement les changements des séquences régulatrices.

Ces réseaux de gènes sont à l’origine de nombreux (tous les ?) phénotypes. Mais leur fonctionnement est soumis à une part de bruit, le nombre de copies d’éléments produits par chacun de ces gènes (ARN et protéines) variant obligatoirement d’une cellule à une autre. Je prends en compte la présence de ce bruit d’expression (thèse de Florian Labourel), pour modéliser son exploitation permettant de générer des stratégies de bet-hedging diversifiant (l’expression aléatoire de divers phénotypes par un seul génotype) et de la multicellularité (mais on s’est un peu cassé les dents là-dessus !).

Mes projets actuels sur ce thème concernent (toujours) l’évolution du bet-hedging et de la multicellularité. Je m’intéresse aussi à l’émergence et à l’évolution de système d’hérédité non génétiques (Rajon et Charlat, 2019), pour lesquels ces réseaux sont un terreau idéal semble-t-il : bizarrement une grande majorité ses mécanismes d’hérédité non-génétique décrits interviennent dans les réseaux de gènes (petits ARN, méthylation, etc.).

Les appariements physiques entre hormones et récepteurs sont à l’origine de nombreux phénotypes observés chez les organismes multicellulaires, et surtout des relations entre ces phénotypes. C’est dans ce cadre que je me suis intéressé à leur évolution (thèse de Salomé Bourg), afin de modéliser l’évolution de la forme des trade-offs (Bourg et al, 2019).

Sur ce thème, j’ai pour projet de construire un modèle permettant de comprendre l’évolution des dynamiques temporelles (au cours de la vie) d’allocation d’énergie aux traits d’histoire de vie.

Sans enzyme, pas de vie possible : les réactions biochimiques qui fournissent aux êtres vivants énergie et matériaux de construction, à partir de ce qui se trouve dans leur milieu, seraient beaucoup trop lentes pour soutenir le rythme des organismes autorépliquants. Pourtant, l’image d’Epinal d’enzymes hyper efficaces, fonctionnant aux limites de ce qui est possible physiquement, ne résiste pas à l’analyse de leurs constantes cinétiques.

Pour le comprendre, nous (thèse de Florian Labourel) avons construit des modèles d’évolution des enzymes intégrant une caractéristique essentielle des êtres vivants reposant sur l’efficacité enzymatique (la compétition pour les ressources) et des détails de l’environnement d’une enzyme (réaction catalysée, caractéristiques du métabolite produit, etc.). Ce travail a montré que l’inefficacité observée peut être comprise par un plateau au-delà duquel augmenter l’efficacité augmente peu la valeur sélective (Labourel et Rajon, 2021).

D’autre part, l’intégration des contraintes cellulaires régissant l’expression (coûteuse) de ces enzymes a permis de comprendre pourquoi, parfois, des organismes relarguent des métabolites permettant encore de générer de l’énergie, au profit d’autres, faisant ainsi la lumière sur l’évolution d’interactions de cross-feeding communes dans les communautés microbiennes (Labourel et al, 2021).

Publications

Affichage des publications 1 à 16 sur 16 au total