Who are I? Who am we?

These enigmatic questions, borrowed from my colleague and friend Fabrice Vavre, run through most of my work.

  • Who are I? What multitude of genes, cells, symbiotic partners, compose biological "individuals"? And to what extent do these different degrees of organization also constitute individuals, i.e., effective targets of natural selection, carrying adaptations of their own, potentially deleterious at other scales?
  • Who am we? To what extent should the collective, from the ant colony to the ecosystem, also be perceived as an incipient individual ?

As opportunities of collaborations arose, these questionings gave rise to various research projects that are briefly described below. Symbiotic relationships, approached in particular through evolutionary genomics in arthropods, occupy a prominent place, alongside modeling, didactics, and more recently, epistemology.

To discuss these topics, or to learn about possible opportunities to join us, please feel free to contact me.

RESEARCH THEMES

We seek to test the hypothesis that parasitoids, particularly via domesticated viruses, would constitute preponderant vectors of horizontal transfers.

Of all symbiotic lineages of bacteria, Wolbachia is probably both the most abundant and the most diverse in terms of evolutionary implications. Its vertical maternal transmission has led it to evolve very particular invasion strategies, often beneficial to females (and more precisely, to the cytoplasmic lineage, transmitted by females) and on the contrary deleterious to males.

Wolbachia has always been central to our work, especially concerning its epidemiological dynamics and evolutionary consequences, at the scale of arthropod communities, and the genetic architecture of cytoplasmic incompatibility.

As powerful as DNA variations may be in explaining evolution, what might be the contribution of other modes of inheritance to adaptive evolution ?

The teaching of evolutionary biology is reputed to be difficult. Beyond ideological reasons, this reveals how hard (but important) it is to deal with uncertainty in science teaching, and science in general.

If, in an evolutionary perspective, the individual is recursively conceived as resulting from the merging of individuals of lower scale, how did the smallest scale, the first, come to be?

What were the first units of selection, the first sparks of life? How to define and describe their properties, which necessarily implies combining biological and physico-chemical concepts? Where does individuality begin, and with it evolution by natural selection? In the uncertain hypothesis that such units of selection could exist outside the living world, in other physico-chemical systems, how to recognize them ?

Publications

Display of 1 to 30 publications on 73 in total

Qui sommes-je? Qui suis-nous?

Ces formules énigmatiques, empruntées à mon collègue et ami Fabrice Vavre, traversent l’essentiel de mes travaux.

  • Qui sommes-je ? Quelle multitude de gènes, cellules, partenaires symbiotiques, compose les « individus » biologiques ? Et dans quelle mesure ces différents degrés d’organisation constituent eux aussi des individus, c’est-à-dire des niveaux de sélection opérant, porteurs d’adaptations qui leur sont propres, potentiellement délétères aux autres échelles ?
  • Qui suis-nous ? Dans quelle mesure le collectif, de la fourmilière à l’écosystème, devrait-il lui aussi être perçu comme individu en devenir ?

Au gré des collaborations, ces questionnements ont donné lieu à divers projets de recherche, brièvement décrits ci-dessous. Les relations symbiotiques, abordées notamment par des approches de génomique évolutive chez les arthropodes, y occupent une place prépondérante, au côté de la modélisation, la didactique et l’épistémologie.

Pour échanger sur ces sujets, ou connaître d’éventuelles opportunités de nous rejoindre, n’hésitez pas à me contacter.

THÈMES DE RECHERCHE

Nous cherchons à tester l’hypothèse selon laquelle les parasitoïdes, notamment via des virus domestiqués, constitueraient des vecteurs prépondérants de transferts horizontaux.

De toutes les lignées de bactéries symbiotiques, Wolbachia est sans doute à la fois la plus abondante et la plus diverse en termes d’implications évolutives. Sa transmission verticale maternelle l’a menée vers des stratégies d’invasion très particulières, souvent bénéfiques aux femelles (plus précisément, à la lignée cytoplasmique, transmise par les femelles) et au contraire délétères pour les mâles.

Wolbachia a toujours occupé une place centrale dans nos travaux, notamment concernant sa dynamique épidémiologique, à l’échelle des communautés d’arthropodes, ses conséquences évolutives, et l’architecture génétique de l’incompatibilité cytoplasmique.

Aussi puissante soit la génétique pour expliquer l’évolution, quelle pourrait être la contribution des autres modes d’hérédité aux déplacements des populations dans un paysage adaptatif ?

L’enseignement de la biologie évolutive est réputé difficile. Au-delà des raisons idéologiques, ces difficultés sont révélatrices d’un difficile rapport à l’incertitude dans l’enseignement des sciences, qu’il convient de questionner.

Si, dans une perspective évolutive, l’individu est conçu, de manière récursive, comme fruit d’une association d’individus d’échelle inférieure, comment a émergé la plus petite échelle, la première ?

Quelles ont été les premières unités de sélection, les premières étincelles de vie ? Comment définir et décrire leurs propriétés, en conjuguant nécessairement des concepts biologiques et physico-chimiques ? Où commence l’individualité, et avec elle l’évolution par sélection naturelle ? Dans l’hypothèse hasardeuse où de telles unités de sélection pourraient exister en dehors du vivant, dans d’autres systèmes physico-chimiques, comment les reconnaître ?

Publications

Affichage des publications 1 à 30 sur 73 au total