Almost 50% of our genome is made of transposable elements, which are sequences able to move and multiply along the chromosomes. Among these sequences, endogenous retroviruses are remnants of ancient viral infections, which are now transmitted from one generation to another in a gene-like manner.

Within and between species dynamics of transposable elements

Our group is interested in the dynamics of these sequences in the genomes of natural populations, based on the twin species model D. melanogaster / D. simulans. The amount of transposable elements in the genomes of these natural populations is highly variable, as are the activity and regulation of these sequences. This allows a powerful comparative approach to dissect the involved mechanisms.

In order to understand the observed variability, we are investigating the epigenetic control of TEs, particularly via the piRNA class of small interfering RNAs. We are exploring the link between differences in TE dynamics and variability in the regulation by piRNAs, using sequencing data as well as laboratory experiments.

Epigenetics and genome stability: how the environment affects transposable element stability

We study genome stability through the diversity of the epigenetic pathways controlling TEs, in normal conditions and when the environment changes. We use fresh Drosophila samples coming from temperate (France) and tropical (Brasil) areas, that are submitted to various environmental stress. We then characterize TE content and activity as well as epigenetic regulation using NGS technologies.

Endogenous Retroviruses and Immunity

We want to investigate the interplay between the host immune responses to arbovirus (Arthropod Borne virus) infections and the TE and Endogenous Retroviruses (ERV) genomic control mechanisms (RNA interference: piRNA and siRNA pathways) using Drosophila as an in vivo model system. To this end, we will take advantage of the natural variability existing between and within species for ERVs (copy numbers, activities, and control by the piRNA pathway).
 

Publications

Display of 1 to 20 publications on 20 in total

Près de la moitié de notre génome est composée d'éléments transposables, séquences capables de se déplacer et de se multiplier le long des chromosomes. Certaines de ces séquences, les rétrovirus endogènes, sont les vestiges d'anciennes infections virales, aujourd'hui transmises d'une génération à l'autre de la même manière que nos gènes.

Dynamique intra- et inter-espèces des éléments transposables

L'équipe s'intéresse à la dynamique de ces séquences dans les génomes des populations naturelles, à partir du modèle d'espèces jumelles Drosophila melanogaster / D. simulans. La part du génome occupée par les éléments transposables dans les populations naturelles de ces espèces est très variable, ainsi que l'activité et la régulation de ces séquences, ceci permettant une approche comparative très puissante pour la dissection des différents mécanismes impliqués.

L'une des pistes explorées pour expliquer cette variabilité concerne la régulation épigénétique de ces séquences répétées, en particulier par le biais de petits ARN interférents appelés piRNA. Nous étudions la variabilité de ce système de régulation en lien avec la variabilité du nombre de copies et de l'activité des familles d'éléments transposables, tant par des approches d'analyses de données de séquençage que par des expérimentations en laboratoire.

Epigénétique et stabilité du génome: comment l'environnement affecte la stabilité des éléments transposables

Nous étudions la stabilité du génome par le biais de la diversité des mécanismes épigénétiques impliqués dans le contrôle des éléments transposables, en conditions normales et en cas de changements environnementaux. Nous utilisons pour cela des drosophiles fraîchement échantillonnées dans des régions tempérées (France) et tropicales (Brésil), que nous soumettons à des stress environnementaux. Nous caractérisons ensuite l'abondance et l'activité des ET ainsi que la régulation épigénétique en utilisant des données de séquençage à haut débit.

Rétrovirus endogènes et immunité

Nous nous intéressons aux interactions entre les réponses immunitaires de l'hôte en cas d'infection par un arbovirus (Arthropod Borne virus) et le contrôle des ET et des rétrovirus endogènes par les voies d'ARN interférence. Nous optons pour une approche évolutive en utilisant différentes lignées naturelles de drosophile présentant une grande variabilité dans leurs ET et rétrovirus endogènes (abondance, activité, régulation par les petits ARN).
 

Publications

Affichage des publications 1 à 20 sur 20 au total