Research interests

The goal of my research is to bring an evolutionary perspective to the study of symbiosis, through the understanding of molecular interactions between partners.

Animals live in symbiosis with controlled bacterial communities in contrasting and changing environments. Symbionts can impact the phenotype of their host positively (e.g., by providing nutrients or protecting their host from pathogens) or negatively (by imposing a fitness cost). These partner interactions evolve in response to different selection pressures, making the associations dynamic along the continuum between parasitism and mutualism, and may also vary the degree of dependence between partners. I am particularly interested in the evolution of these symbiotic associations in response to different selection pressures, and in characterizing the molecular mechanisms underlying these changes.

Current projects

Understanding the interactions between the bedbug and its microbiota, to control its populations by breaking the symbiotic association

Funding Pack Ambition Recherche (région Auvergne Rhône-Alpes) 2019-2024 / SymBed Project/ Collaboration with BF2i and IZInovation / PhD Marius Poulain.

Funding ANR PRC 2021-2025 / FBI Project / Collaboration with BF2i and LECA

Bedbugs have increased significantly over the last ten years, mainly due to the increase in human migration and resistance to insecticides. In the short term, the study of resistance determinants (project of Julien Varaldi / Jean-Philippe David) will allow to target the use of insecticides. In parallel, we are studying the interactions between the bedbug Cimex lectularius and its obligate bacterium Wolbachia in order to break the symbiotic association and control bedbug populations by alternative methods to pesticides. Indeed, Wolbachia wCle bacteria synthesize B vitamins that are necessary for the development and fertility of bedbugs. Using transcriptomics, metabolomics and microscopy approaches, we are studying in detail the interactions between the insect and its nutritional symbionts, in order to identify molecular mechanisms involved in the regulation of bacterial density and in the dependence of the bedbug on its symbiont.

 

Rapid Evolution of symbiotic interaction in response to stress

Funding JCJC ANR 2017-2021 / RESIST Project / PhD Alexis Bénard

Symbionts can promote or constrain rapid host adaptation to environmental changes. In response to global changes (temperature, precipitation; air, water and soil quality; biological invasions...) and to anthropization (intensive agriculture; urbanization...), it is therefore important to study the impact of these changes at the holobiont scale, i.e., the host and its microbial communities. In the RESIST project, we study more precisely: to what extent do stresses associated with the presence of pesticide (paraquat) and/or virus (DCV) impact flies of the genus Drosophila melanogaster, directly or indirectly via an impact on their Wolbachia symbionts? How does the symbiotic association evolve and more particularly if the presence of Wolbachia allows a rapid adaptation to these stresses? And what molecular and metabolic mechanisms are involved in the response to viral and/or oxidative stress?

 

Impact of commensal and endosymbiotic bacteria on viral infection in insects

Funding Labex Ecofect 2017-2019 / ComEndoVir Projet/ Co-PI with F. Leulier (IGFL) / Post-doc Vincent Raquin

The complex relationships between different microbial communities and how these communities can impact their host remain poorly studied. In the ComEndoVir project, we therefore characterized the impact of polymicrobial associations on Drosophila physiology. To this end, we created an artificial holobiont model, composed of two commensal bacteria of the digestive tract (Lactobacillus plantarum and Acetobacter pomorum), the intracellular bacterium Wolbachia and the pathogenic virus Drosophila C virus (DCV), and measured several life history traits related to the physiology of the host and the microbes. We showed that the multipartite interactions detected within the host impact host physiology, with multiple bacterial interactions notably allowing for improved tolerance to viral infection.

 

Previous research

Post-doc - Establishment and maintenance of the  squid/vibrio symbiosis

2010-2014. University of  Madison-Wisconsin, USA. Supervision : Margaret McFall-Ngai

During my post-doc, I worked on the mutualistic association between the sepiola Euprymna scolopes and the bioluminescent bacterium Vibrio fischeri, acquired anew each generation from the surrounding water. V. fischeri represents less than 0.1% of the bacterioplankton, but surprisingly, it is the only bacterium able to efficiently colonize the light organ of the squid. As the initiation of symbiosis can be easily reproduced in the laboratory, this association constitutes a particularly interesting model to study, in real time, the initial communication between the two partners of the symbiotic association. Using comparative transcriptomics and functional approaches, I characterized the first molecular dialogue between the two partners, just after their first contact.
Another interesting question is to understand how this symbiotic association is maintained, since we observe a daily phenomenon of expulsion then recolonization of bacteria in the light organ. This daily rhythm is associated with a coordinated change in gene expression in both the host and the bacteria, and it has been shown that the symbiotic population is maintained under hypoxic conditions. My second project was therefore to understand how the oxidative environment controls, and is controlled, by the symbiosis.

PhD - Evolution of dependancy in Wolbachia symbioses

2005-2009. University Lyon 1, Lyon, France. Supervision : Fabrice Vavre

During my thesis, I worked on the intracellular bacterium Wolbachia, which induces a wide range of phenotypic effects on its hosts, from facultative reproductive parasitism in arthropods to obligate mutualism in nematodes.
The hymenopteran Asobara tabida is one of the few species where Wolbachia is required for the ovogenesis of its arthropod host. It thus constitutes a particularly relevant study model to investigate the mechanisms underlying this recent evolutionary transition.
I first investigated the variability of Wolbachia dependence within the genus Asobara. Using various transcriptomic approaches, I then characterized the molecular mechanisms involved in the dependence between A. tabida and Wolbachia, and highlighted processes associated with oxidative stress, programmed cell death, and development. Finally, I examined the extent to which Wolbachia impacts the physiology of its host by studying iron metabolism in various symbiotic associations.
These studies revealed that dependence is not always associated with the contribution of new functions. Rather, it may reflect compensatory mechanisms in the host, in response to physiological perturbations induced by the presence of the symbiont. More generally, these results invite us to consider the effects and consequences of the presence of symbionts beyond the mechanisms that allow their persistence within populations.

Publications

Display of 1 to 30 publications on 33 in total

Centres d’intérêt

Le but de ma recherche est d’apporter une perspective évolutive à l’étude de la symbiose, à travers la compréhension des interactions moléculaires entre les partenaires.

Les animaux vivent en symbiose avec des communautés bactériennes contrôlées, dans des environnements contrastés et changeants. Les symbiotes peuvent impacter le phénotype de leur hôte positivement (en apportant par exemple des nutriments ou en protégeant leur hôte contre des pathogènes) ou négativement (en imposant un coût sur la valeur reproductive de leur hôte). Ces interactions entre partenaires évoluent en réponse à différentes pressions de sélection, ce qui rend ces associations dynamiques le long du continuum entre parasitisme et mutualisme, et peut également faire varier le degré de dépendance entre les partenaires. Je m’intéresse particulièrement à l’évolution de ces associations symbiotiques en réponse aux différentes pressions de sélection, et à la caractérisation des mécanismes moléculaire qui sous-tendent ces changements.

Projets actuels

Comprendre les interactions entre la punaise du lit et son microbiote, pour contrôler ses populations par rupture de l'association symbiotique

Financement Pack Ambition Recherche (région Auvergne Rhône-Alpes) 2019-2024 / Projet SymBed / Collaboration avec BF2i et IZInovation / Thèse Marius Poulain.

Financement ANR PRC 2021-2025 / Projet FBI / Collaboration avec BF2i et LECA

Les punaises de lit sont en recrudescence notable cette dernière dizaine d'années, principalement du fait de l'augmentation des migrations humaines et de la résistance aux insecticides. A court terme, l'étude des déterminants de résistance (projet de Julien Varaldi / Jean-Philippe David) permettra de cibler l'usage des insecticides. En parallèle, nous étudions les interactions entre la punaise de lit Cimex lectularius et sa bactérie obligatoire Wolbachia de manière à rompre l'association symbiotique et à contrôler les populations de punaises de lit par des méthodes alternatives aux pesticides. En effet, les bactéries Wolbachia wCle synthétisent des vitamines B qui sont nécessaires pour le développement et la fertilité des punaises de lit. Par des approches de transcriptomique, de métabolomique et de microscopie, nous étudions finement les interactions entre l’insecte et ses symbiotes nutritionnels, afin d’identifier des mécanismes moléculaires impliqués dans la régulation de la densité bactérienne et dans la dépendance de la punaise vis-à-vis de son symbiote.

 

Evolution rapide des interactions symbiotiques en réponse au stress

Financement  JCJC ANR 2017-2021 / Projet RESIST / Thèse Alexis Bénard

Les symbiotes peuvent favoriser ou contraindre une adaptation rapide de l’hôte au changement environnemental. En réponse aux changements globaux (température, précipitations ; qualité de l’air, de l’eau, des sols ; invasions biologiques…) et à l’anthropisation (agriculture intensive ; urbanisation…), il est donc important d’étudier l’impact de ces changements à l’échelle de l’holobionte, à savoir de l’hôte et de ses communautés microbiennes. Dans le projet RESIST, nous étudions plus précisément : dans quelle mesure les stress associés à la présence de pesticide (paraquat) et/ou de virus (DCV) impactent les mouches du genre Drosophila melanogaster, directement ou indirectement via un impact sur leurs symbiotes Wolbachia ? Comment l’association symbiotique évolue et plus particulièrement si la présence de Wolbachia permet une adaptation rapide à ces stress ? et quels mécanismes moléculaires et métaboliques sont impliqués dans la réponse au stress viral et/ou  oxydant ?

 

Impact des bactéries commensales et endosymbiotiques sur les infections virales chez les insectes

Financement Labex Ecofect 2017-2019 / Projet ComEndoVir / Co-PI avec F. Leulier (IGFL) / Post-doc Vincent Raquin

Les relations complexes entre les différentes communautés microbiennes et la façon dont ces communautés peuvent avoir un impact sur leur hôte restent peu étudiées. Dans le projet ComEndoVir, nous avons donc caractérisé l'impact des associations polymicrobiennes sur la physiologie de la drosophile. Pour cela, nous avons créé un modèle artificiel d'holobionte, composé de deux bactéries commensales du tube digestif (Lactobacillus plantarum et Acetobacter pomorum), de la bactérie intracellulaire Wolbachia et du virus pathogène Drosophila C virus (DCV), et avons mesuré plusieurs traits d'histoire de vie liés à la physiologie de l'hôte et des microbes. Nous avons montré que les interactions multipartites détectées au sein de l'hôte ont un impact sur la physiologie de l'hôte, les interactions bactériennes multiples permettant notamment une meilleure tolérance à l'infection virale.

 

Thématiques antérieures de recherche

Post-doc - Etablissement et maintien de la symbiose sépiole/vibrio

2010-2014. Université de Madison-Wisconsin, USA. Supervision : Margaret McFall-Ngai

Au cours de mon post-doc, j’ai travaillé sur l’association mutualiste entre la sépiole Euprymna scolopes et la bactérie bioluminescente Vibrio fischeri, acquise à chaque génération de l’eau environnante. V. fischeri représente moins de 0.1% du bactérioplancton, mais de manière surprenante, elle est la seule bactérie capable de coloniser efficacement l’organe lumineux de la sépiole. Comme l’initiation de la symbiose peut être reproduite facilement en laboratoire, cette association constitue un modèle d’étude particulièrement intéressant pour étudier, en temps réel, la communication initiale entre les deux partenaires de l’association symbiotique. En utilisant des approches de transcriptomique comparative et des approches fonctionnelles, j’ai caractérisé le premier dialogue moléculaire entre les deux partenaires, juste après leur premier contact.
Une autre question intéressante est de comprendre comment cette association symbiotique se maintient, puisque l’on observe un phénomène journalier d’expulsion puis de recolonisation des bactéries dans l’organe lumineux. Ce rythme journalier est associé à un changement coordonné de l’expression des gènes à la fois chez l’hôte et chez la bactérie, et il a été montré que la population symbiotique est maintenue dans des conditions hypoxiques. Mon second projet a donc consisté à comprendre comment l’environnement oxydatif contrôle, et est contrôlé, par la symbiose.

Thèse - Evolution de la dépendance dans les symbioses à Wolbachia

2005-2009. Université Lyon 1, Lyon, France. Supervision : Fabrice Vavre

Au cours de ma thèse, j’ai travaillé sur la bactérie intracellulaire Wolbachia, qui induit des effets phénotypiques très divers sur ses hôtes, allant du parasitisme facultatif de la reproduction chez les arthropodes au mutualisme obligatoire chez les nématodes.
L’hymenoptère Asobara tabida est une des rares espèces où Wolbachia est nécessaire pour l’ovogenèse de son hôte arthropode. Elle constitue ainsi un modèle d’étude particulièrement pertinent pour rechercher les mécanismes sous-tendant cette transition évolutive récente.
J’ai tout d’abord étudié la variabilité de la dépendance à Wolbachia au sein du genre Asobara. En utilisant diverses approches de transcriptomique, j’ai ensuite caractérisé les mécanismes moléculaires impliqués dans la dépendance entre A. tabida et Wolbachia, et j’ai mis en évidence des processus associés au stress oxydatif, à la mort cellulaire programmée, et au développement. Enfin, j’ai examiné dans quelle mesure Wolbachia impacte la physiologie de sons hôte, en étudiant le métabolisme du fer dans diverses associations symbiotiques.
Ces études ont mis en évidence que la dépendance n’est pas toujours associée à l’apport de nouvelles fonctions. Elle pourrait plutôt refléter des mécanismes compensatoires chez l’hôte, en réponse à des perturbations physiologiques induites par la présence du symbiote. Plus généralement, ces résultats nous invitent à considérer les effets et les conséquences de la présence de symbiotes au-delà des mécanismes qui permettent leur persistance au sein des populations.

Publications

Affichage des publications 1 à 30 sur 33 au total