I am a Phd student (she/her) at the LBBE since October 2020, and I am supervised by Stéphane Dray (LBBE) and Hervé Fritz (IRL REHABS). My PhD subject is: "Statistical methods and software tools to analyze and infer ecological networks and process multi-species data".

Research

My research focuses on the interaction networks between species within a community. A first axis of my PhD consists in investigating methods to infer interactions between species from camera trap data. To do this, I use statistical models to infer attraction-repulsion networks between species. I use data from the Snapshot Safari South Africa program, which manages camera trap grids in protected areas in South Africa. Some of the results of this axis have been published in the article  "Using the multivariate Hawkes process to study interactions between multiple species from camera trap data".

A second axis of my PhD consists in analyzing interaction networks, especially the link between species traits and their interactions. Therefore, I use multivariate methods applied to a bipartite interaction matrix.

Finally, a third axis of my PhD consists in developing tools to analyze multi-species data collected with camera traps. I developed a R package to clean data from the Snapshot Safari program, as well as a Shiny application to visualize data (still in development).

Teaching ("activité complémentaire d’enseignement")

As a PhD student, I have had the opportunity to take part in some teaching activities in the frame of the complementary teaching activity ("activité complémentaire d’enseignement") between October 2020 and July 2023. This consists in teaching practicals and tutorials for undergraduate students for 64 hours a year. I mainly taught statistics and R programming. In particular, I taught in the following courses (links in French):

Science popularization

I am very enthusiastic about science popularization. Besides, I am deeply convinced of its usefulness both for the general public and for my own research. I regularly take part in scientific outreach actions, such as the "conférences embarquées" (mini-conferences on a boat), the "Fête de la Science"  (national science festival) or the Déclics meetings with high school students.

I have also been a member of the Projet Pangolin society, which raises awareness about ecology and gives means to preserve the environment and biodiversity. I contribute mainly through drawings, but I also write articles for the blog. Here are some blog articles for which I contributed (in French): 

Publications

Display of 1 to 1 publications on 1 in total

Je suis doctorante au LBBE depuis octobre 2020, et je suis encadrée par Stéphane Dray (LBBE) et Hervé Fritz (IRL REHABS). Le titre de ma thèse est « Méthodes statistiques et outils logiciels pour l'analyse et l'inférence de réseaux écologiques et le traitement de données multi-espèces ».

Recherche

Je m'intéresse à l'étude des réseaux d’interactions entre les espèces d’une communauté. Un premier volet de ma thèse consiste à rechercher des méthodes permettant d’inférer les interactions entre espèces à partir de données récoltées par pièges photographiques. Pour cet axe, j’utilise des modèles statistiques pour inférer des réseaux d’attraction-répulsion entre différentes espèces. Je travaille avec les données du programme Snapshot Safari South Africa, qui a posé des grilles de pièges photographiques dans plusieurs sites naturels d’Afrique du Sud. Une partie des résultats de cet axe ont été publiés dans l'article "Using the multivariate Hawkes process to study interactions between multiple species from camera trap data".

Un deuxième volet de ma thèse s’intéresse à l’analyse de réseaux d’interactions, et notamment à la relation entre les traits des espèces et leurs interactions. Pour cela, j’utilise des méthodes d’analyse multivariée appliquées à l’analyse d’une matrice d’interactions bipartite.

Enfin, un troisième volet de ma thèse consiste à développer des outils d'analyse de données multi-espèces collectées par pièges photographiques. Dans ce cadre, j'ai développé un package R pour nettoyer les données du programme Snapshot Safari, ainsi qu'une application Shiny pour visualiser les données (en cours de développement).

Activité complémentaire d'enseignement

En tant que doctorante, j’ai exercé entre octobre 2020 et juillet 2023 une activité complémentaire d’enseignement (ACE). Je suis intervenue principalement en statistiques et en programmation avec R et en particulier dans les UE suivantes :

Vulgarisation scientifique

Je suis passionnée par la vulgarisation scientifique, et convaincue de son utilité à la fois pour le public mais aussi pour mes activités de recherche. Je participe régulièrement à des actions de médiation scientifique comme les conférences embarquées, la Fête de la Science ou les rencontres Déclics.

J'ai aussi été membre pendant deux ans de l’association Projet Pangolin, qui sensibilise à l’écologie scientifique et donne des moyens d’agir pour préserver l’environnement et la biodiversité. Je m’investis principalement à travers la réalisation d'illustrations, mais je participe aussi aux animations et à la rédaction d’articles. Voici quelques articles du Projet Pangolin auxquels j'ai contribué :

Publications

Affichage des publications 1 à 1 sur 1 au total