My work focuses on the evolutionary genetics of insects. I am currently developing three main themes:

1.        Organisms face many viral infections during their life. Although viruses are known for their pathogenic effects, a number of them, under studied, reveal more subtle effects, and are potentially heritable. We have discovered such a virus in a parasitoid wasp. Its main effect is to manipulate the wasp's egg-laying behavior, thus promoting its horizontal transmission. To improve our global understanding of insect-associated viral diversity we are conducting metagenomic programs in insect communities.

2.        During evolution, sequences of these viruses have been able to integrate into the chromosomes of their hosts (whether or not the integration is part of their natural cycle). Some of these insertions have allowed major genetic innovations such as the "invention" of the placenta in mammals. In hymenopteran insects, which live as parasites of other insects, several clades have "domesticated" viruses, which allows them today to address virulence factors to their hosts. These endogenized viruses are currently necessary for the good development of parasitoids. The first documented cases concerned the superfamily Ichneumonoidea. Our recent work has revealed similar phenomena, although completely independent, in other superfamilies (Di Giovanni et al. 2020, thesis in progress B. Guinet). One of the challenges is to define the extent and evolutionary impact of these domestications in insects.

3.        Bed bugs are a re-emerging pest. These hematophagous insects have experienced an extremely large population boom in recent years, probably related to the evolution of insecticide resistance. We are currently investigating the genetic determinants underlying the resistance phenotype (CIFRE thesis in progress Chloé Haberkorn).

 

            Parasitoid depositing an egg (and its virus) in a Drosophila larva. (drawing credit : J. Martinez)

 

Publications

Display of 1 to 27 publications on 27 in total

Mon travail porte sur la génétique évolutive des insectes. Je développe actuellement trois thématiques principales:

  1. Les organismes sont confrontés à de nombreuses infections virales au cours de leur vie. Bien que les virus sont connus pour leurs effets pathogènes, un certain nombre d’entre eux, sous étudiés, révèlent des effets plus subtils, et sont potentiellement héritables. Nous avons découvert un tel virus chez une guêpe parasitoïde. Son effet principal est de manipuler le comportement de ponte de la guêpe, favorisant ainsi sa transmission horizontale. Afin d’améliorer notre compréhension globale de la diversité virale associée aux insectes nous menons des programmes de metagénomique dans les communautés d’insectes.
  2. Au cours de l'évolution, des séquences de ces virus ont pu s’intégrer dans les chromosomes de leurs hôtes (que l'intégration fasse partie de leur cycle naturel ou non). Certaines de ces insertions, ont permis des innovations génétiques majeures comme l'"invention" du placenta chez les mammifères. Chez les insectes hymenoptères parasitoïdes, qui vivent en parasites d'autres insectes, plusieurs clades ont "domestiqués" des virus, ce qui leur permet aujourd’hui d'adresser des facteurs de virulence à leurs hôtes. Ces virus endogénisés sont actuellement nécessaires au bon développement des parasitoïdes. Les premiers cas documentés concernaient jusque là la superfamille des Ichneumonoidea. Notre travail récent a révélé des phénomènes similaires, bien que complètement indépendants, dans d'autres superfamilles (Di Giovanni et al. 2020, thèse en cours B. Guinet). Un des enjeux est de définir l’étendue et l’impact évolutif de ces domestications chez les insectes.
  3. Les punaises de lit sont un fléau ré-emergent. Ces insectes hématophages ont connu un boom démographique extrêmement important ces dernières années, probablement en lien avec l’évolution de la résistance aux insecticides. Nous recherchons actuellement les déterminants génétiques sous-tendant le phénotype de résistance (thèse CIFRE en cours Chloé Haberkorn).

            Parasitoïde déposant un œuf (et son virus) dans une larve de drosophile. (crédit dessin : J. Martinez)

Publications

Affichage des publications 1 à 27 sur 27 au total