Genomes are the product of various evolutionary processes: certain genomic traits that we observe today reflect functional constraints that currently operate or that have operated in the past; others result from non-adaptive processes. To identify the features of the genome that are important for its functioning, it is necessary to look for features whose mode of evolution deviates from the neutralist model: this is the basic principle of the comparative analysis of genomes, which is at the heart of all my research activity. My work follows a double logic: study the evolution of genomes to better understand how they work - and vice versa, take into account the molecular mechanisms of genome functioning in order to better interpret sequence evolution. We explore genetic diversity at different level, both across species and within species (population genomics). My work is based on bioinformatic and statistical analysis of sequences, but also relies heavily on close collaborations with ‘wet-lab' biologists.
These last years, my main focus has been on exploring the consequences of homologous recombination on genome evolution. In particular, we have discovered that in many species, recombination induces non-Mendelien inheritance, favoring the fixation of GC-alleles (gBGC – for GC-Biased Gene Conversion). This non-adaptive process has a major impact on the evolution of genomic landscapes and also on gene expression processes. We are now trying to understand how and why does gBGC evolve, and how and why do recombination rates vary in space (along chromosomes) and in time (across species).
I am also interested in understanding how the constraints imposed by the cost of gene expression shape genome evolution. We have shown that gene expression level is an important determinant of selective pressures acting on numerous features: on protein sequences, on gene dosage, on splicing accuracy, and on translation efficiency. We are now exploring how variation in the efficacy of selection contributes to the evolution of the complexity of gene expression patterns across species.
I am also working, in collaboration with researchers from Paris and Gif, on the genomics of Paramecia. This unicellular eukaryote displays many very peculiar features that make it a fantastic model to explore  various topics (whole genome duplications, proliferation of selfish genetic elements, alternative splicing, transgenerational inheritance of epigenetic modifications, …).

 

Publications

Display of 1 to 30 publications on 154 in total

Les génomes sont le produit de divers processus évolutifs : certains traits génomiques que nous observons aujourd'hui reflètent des contraintes fonctionnelles qui opèrent actuellement ou qui ont opéré dans le passé ; d'autres résultent de processus non-adaptatifs. Pour identifier les caractéristiques du génome qui sont importantes pour son fonctionnement, il faut rechercher celles dont le mode d'évolution s'écarte du modèle neutraliste : c'est le principe même de l'analyse comparative des génomes, qui est au cœur de mon activité de recherche. Mon travail suit une double logique : étudier l'évolution des génomes pour mieux comprendre leur fonctionnement - et inversement, prendre en compte les mécanismes moléculaires du fonctionnement des génomes afin de mieux interpréter l'évolution des séquences. Mon travail se base sur l'analyse bioinformatique et statistique des séquences, mais s'appuie également fortement sur des collaborations étroites avec des biologistes « de paillasse ».
Ces dernières années, mon objectif principal a été d'explorer les conséquences de la recombinaison homologue sur l'évolution du génome. En particulier, nous avons découvert que chez de nombreuses espèces, la recombinaison induit une hérédité non mendélienne, favorisant la fixation des allèles GC (gBGC – pour GC-Biased Gene Conversion). Ce processus non adaptatif a un impact majeur sur l'évolution des paysages génomiques ainsi que sur les processus d'expression des gènes. Nous essayons maintenant de comprendre comment et pourquoi le gBGC évolue, et comment et pourquoi les taux de recombinaison varient dans l'espace (le long des chromosomes) et dans le temps (entre les espèces).
Je cherche également à comprendre comment les contraintes imposées par le coût de l'expression des gènes façonnent l'évolution du génome. Nous avons montré que le niveau d'expression des gènes est un déterminant important des pressions sélectives agissant sur de nombreuses caractéristiques : sur les séquences protéiques, sur le dosage des gènes, sur la précision de l'épissage et sur l'efficacité de la traduction. Nous explorons maintenant comment la variation de l'efficacité de la sélection contribue à l'évolution de la complexité des processus d'expression des gènes à travers les espèces.
Je travaille également, en collaboration avec des chercheurs de Paris et de Gif, sur la génomique de la paramécie. Cet eucaryote unicellulaire présente de nombreuses caractéristiques très particulières qui en font un modèle fantastique pour aborder de nombreux sujets (duplications de génomes entiers, prolifération d'éléments génétiques égoïstes, épissage alternatif, hérédité transgénérationnelle de modifications épigénétiques, …).

 

Publications

Affichage des publications 1 à 30 sur 154 au total